What does iron do in the body?

Iron is an important component of hemoglobin, the substance in red blood cells that carries oxygen from your lungs throughout your body. Hemoglobin represents about two-thirds of the body's iron. If you don't have enough iron, your body can't make enough healthy red blood cells.