Can a hoverboard explode?

Half A Million 'Hoverboards' Recalled Over Risk Of Fire, Explosions : The Two-Way Self-balancing scooters — better known as hoverboards (though they do not hover) — can spark, smoke, catch fire or explode, says the Consumer Product Safety Commission.