Who holds the record for the most emmy wins for the same character?

As of 2020, Cloris Leachman and Julia Louis-Dreyfus are tied for the most Emmys ever by a performer with 8 each. With 7 Emmy wins, Ed Asner has won the most Emmys ever by a male performer.