What does a pilgrim hat look like?

Pilgrims did wear the black conical hats you’re imagining, called capotains, but they didn’t have buckles. In fact, the Plymouth settlers were so poor, and so conservative of dress, that even their belts didn’t buckle! They kept their pants up with leather laces.