What's the carbon line?

A spectral line is a dark or bright line in an otherwise uniform and continuous spectrum, resulting from emission or absorption of light in a narrow frequency range. Each element, like carbon, has its own unique band of lines. Spectral lines are often used to identify atoms and molecules.