What is the world record for the hundred meter butterfly?

In 2019, American swimmer Caeleb Dressel set the new world record in the men's 100 meter butterfly during the World Championships in Gwangju, South Korea. Dressel came in at 49.50 during the second semi-final in the event, breaking the old record of 49.82 set by Michael Phelps in August 2009.