What's in a strawberry daiquiri?

2 ounces (1/4 cup) freshly squeezed lime juice, plus 1 tablespoon lime zest, from 2 limes 1/4 cup granulated sugar, plus up to 2 additional tablespoons 4 cups (16 ounces) fresh strawberries, hulled 5 ounces (2/3 cup) white rum 2 cups small ice cubes