How much money does an astronaut make a year?

According to NASA, civilian astronauts are awarded a pay grade of anywhere from GS-11 to GS-14, so the income range is relatively wide. Starting salaries begin at just over $66,000 a year. Seasoned astronauts, on the other hand, can earn upward of $144,566 a year.