Why doesn't the mandalorian remove his helmet?

The Mandalorians appear to have suffered some sort of devastating loss to their clans, forcing them into hiding, and leading them to keep their helmets on at all times. Mandalorians can take off their helmets. Just not in front of other people. Often he takes off his helmet to eat alone.