How do worms get in apples?

Adult apple maggot flies lay their eggs under the skin of growing apples. The eggs hatch within a week and turn into tiny larvae. The larvae, which look like tiny worms in your apples, burrow around the fruit, eating, pooping and having a wonderful time. The larvae feed on apples for up to a month.