Why is the civil war called the civil war?

A civilian is a citizen of a country. A civil war or a state of civil unrest is one in which the citizens (or civilians) battle one another rather than an outside force.

---

If you mean the US Civil War, that’s a great question. A civil war takes place amongst the citizens of one nation. In reality, 11 States seceded, or left, the USA to form the Confederate States of America (CSA). During the war it was called the War Between the (Union & Confederate) States.