What is a truffle a tree?

Truffles form to tree roots of specific tree types. The best known and most expensive Truffles grow symbiotically with Oak truffle trees; specifically English Oak, White Oak and French Oak. ... Truffle trees require a 7.5 to 7.9 soil pH to grow great Truffles.