What is the name of the famous building in new york city where john lennon was shot?

John Lennon was shot in the archway of his residence, The Dakota in New York City by Mark David Chapman on December 8, 1980.

---

The entranceway arch to The Dakota apartment building was the scene of John Lennon's murder on the night of December 8, 1980. Lennon lived here with his wife Yoko Ono and their son Sean. Mark David Chapman shot Lennon four times as he returned home from an evening spent at a recording studio.