Why is dayton ohio called the gym city?

Dayton, Ohio, is known as the Gem City. The Dayton Daily News says the nickname's origin isn't clear, though its use goes back over 170 years. It may refer to a famous racehorse from there named Gem. In 1845 the Cincinnati Daily Chronicle referred to Dayton as "the gem of all our interior towns."