What's a hair?

Hair is made of keratin. Keratin is one of a family of structural fibrous proteins also known as scleroproteins. Alpha-keratin is a type of keratin found in vertebrates. It is the key structural material making up scales, hair, nails, feathers, horns, claws, hooves, and the outer layer of skin.