What country is called the land of the thunder dragon?

Bhutan. It is a landlocked country in South Asia, located in the Eastern Himalayas. It's traditional name is Druk Yul (Land of Thunder Dragon) and it has got this name because of the violent and large thunderstorms that wipe down through the valley from the Himalayas.

---

Bhutan Although it measures only 110 miles from the north to south and 200 from east to west, Bhutan - called by its people Druk Yul, "the Land of the Thunder Dragon" -- is home to a remarkable variety of climates and ecosystems.