How often do cicadas come around?

Annual cicadas typically emerge in summer each year, but rarely appear in noticeable numbers. Periodic cicadas emerge every 13 or 17 years and then live a few weeks while they mate. Though cicadas have varied life cycles, their emergence is not synchronized so some appear every year.