Is the barometric pressure falling or rising?

When the air is dry, cool, and pleasant, the barometer reading rises. In general, a rising barometer means improving weather. In general, a falling barometer means worsening weather. When atmospheric pressure drops suddenly, this usually indicates that a storm is on its way.