What is sofritas food?

Sofrito is a sauce used as a base in Spanish, Caribbean, Italian, Portuguese and Latin American cooking. It consists of finely chopped aromatic ingredients used in rice, beans, stews and other dishes. Typical ingredients are: onions, garlic, tomatoes, cilantro, bell peppers.