Why do they call the oscars the oscars?

The Academy officially adopted the name "Oscar" for the trophies in 1939. ... A frequently mentioned originator is Margaret Herrick, the Academy executive secretary, who, when she first saw the award in 1931, said the statuette reminded her of "Uncle Oscar", a nickname for her cousin Oscar Pierce.