Where were danishes invented?

The origin of the Danish pastry is often ascribed to a strike amongst bakery workers in Denmark in 1850. The strike caused bakery owners to hire workers from abroad, who brought along new baking traditions and pastry recipes. After the disputes ended, Danish bakers adopted the Austrian recipes.