How do you know if something is a vegetable?

Vegetables are grouped according to the portion of the plant that is eaten such as leaves (lettuce), stem (celery), roots (carrot), tubers (potato), bulbs (onion) and flowers (broccoli). A fruit is the mature ovary of a plant. Tomato is botanically a fruit but is commonly considered a vegetable.

---

The term vegetable is imprecise, but is commonly used to indicate edible plants that are not very sweet.