What was the first three d. mario game?

Super Mario 64 is a 1996 platform video game for the Nintendo 64 and the first in the Super Mario series to feature three-dimensional (3D) gameplay. As Mario, the player explores Princess Peach 's castle and must rescue her from Bowser.