How long do you boil potatoes in a pan?

Bring water to a boil over high heat, then reduce heat to medium, and cook at a rapid simmer until potatoes are easily pierced with a paring knife, about 10 minutes for chopped potatoes, and 20 minutes for whole potatoes.