Is there a difference between rolled oats and old-fashioned oats?

Old Fashioned oats are also called rolled oats. Old fashioned oats are flat and flakey. They absorb more water and cook faster than steel-cut oats — usually in about 5 minutes — and are the oat of choice for granola bars, cookies, and muffins.