Why is it called a cowlick?

Cowlicks appear when the growth direction of the hair is against the spiral pattern. The term "cowlick" originates from the domestic bovine's habit of licking its young, creating a swirling pattern in the hair. The most common site of a human cowlick is in the crown, but they can show up anywhere.