When did shirley chisholm run for president?

In 1972, Shirley Chisholm was the first woman to run for the Democratic Party's presidential nomination. Ultimately the Democratic party candidate selected was George McGovern with running mate Sargent Shriver, who lost to Richard Nixon and Spiro Agnew.