What is the song mack the knife about?

London Particulars says "Mack the Knife" is based on a real person, Jack Sheppard, who was a thief and folk hero operating in the 1720s. He was a handsome and witty chap, and probably the closest thing you could get in those days to the “working-class boy made good.” The original lovable rogue.