Why do cats put their butts in your face?

Cats gain a lot of information through scent, so they present their butts to allow you the chance to gain the same information from their scent. They also trust you, as they're presenting a vulnerable area to you. Sometimes, a cat will present their butt as a way of asking you to scratch it.