What was the battle of brooklyn?

The Battle of Brooklyn (also referred to as the Battle of Long Island) stands as the largest single battle of the Revolutionary War. The battle was the first major armed campaign for the colonies after declaring independence from Great Britain and a massive defeat and retreat for George Washington.

---

A Battle During The American Revolutionary War fought on Tuesday, August 27, 1776, near what is now Brooklyn NY.