Why do sloths go so slow?

Like pacing your car when it's low on gas, sloths move slowly to conserve energy as well. In fact, they move slower than any other mammal on Earth. Sloths have little energy for darting around at fast speeds because of their herbivorous diet. They just don't get many energy-producing nutrients.