When was rubber discovered?

Charles Goodyear (December 29, 1800 – July 1, 1860) was an American self-taught chemist and manufacturing engineer who developed vulcanized rubber in 1839, for which he received patent number 3633 from the United States Patent Office on June 15, 1844.