Why do they call monkey pops monkey pops?

Assuming you mean "Monkey Pox" it is a blister causing virus first seen in certain breeds of monkeys. This disease transferred to humans when humans came into contact with diseased monkeys. The disease is not as severe as smallpox. Smallpox is considered to be eradicated.