Why is vodka sauce called vodka sauce?

Vodka sauce is made from a smooth tomato sauce, vodka, typical Italian herbs, and heavy cream. The vodka's function is, to release flavors in the tomato that are normally inaccessible; using alcoholic beverages for this purpose is common although wine is usually used and vodka seldom used.