What makes a pie a pie?

A pie is a baked dish which is usually made of a pastry dough casing that contains a filling of various sweet or savoury ingredients. ... Pies are defined by their crusts. A filled pie , has pastry lining the baking dish, and the filling is placed on top of the pastry but left open.