Who is eddie and the cruisers?

In a 1983 American film, Eddie and the Cruisers, a major rock 'n' roll band in the early '60s, fell off the radar when Eddie vanished after a dispute over their experimental second album. Nearly 20 years later, a journalist tracks down the old Cruisers to find the secret of Eddie's disappearance.

---

They were, a fictional band, in a 1983 movie. The band's songs, in the movie, were actually sung by the New Jersey based, Beaver Brown band.