What does a farmer do in minecraft?

Farming can be almost as important as mining in Minecraft. Farming will give you food to eat and also provide you with supplies you cannot get otherwise. There is basic vegetable and melon farming, but you can also farm trees, mushrooms, cacti, sugar cane and cocoa beans.