How to repel flies?

Flies can be easily repelled with white vinegar, so much so that even the smell of boiling vinegar can be an easy-to-make DIY fly repellent on its own. There are also many plants that repel flies such as mint, basil, marigolds, lavender, rosemary and citronella.