What's an alligator key?

Alligator Reef is a coral reef located within the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary. It lies to the southeast of Upper Matecumbe Key. It was named after the United States Navy schooner USS Alligator, which was wrecked on the reef after an engagement with pirate ships in 1822.