How long do you sear salmon?

The total time of 8 to 9 minutes for thick fillets and 6 to 7 minutes for thinner fillets. Turn over filet half way through the time. Make sure before putting it in pan to coat in oil. You will know it’s done, when it flakes easily with a fork.