What is mac and cheese?

Mac and cheese is the nickname for one of North America’s favourite dishes, macaroni and cheese. Macaroni pasta is cooked, then mixed with a bechamel sauce and shredded cheese. It’s a frequent side dish and comfort food in the South; and if you haven’t had any, go try some now, it’s delicious!