How do you change a pokemon's name in pokemon scarlet and violet?

Here's how to rename your Pokemon in Scarlet and Violet: Hit the X button to open your Party. Select the Pokemon you wish to rename, and hit “Check Summary” In the Summary, hit X to Change the Pokemon's nickname. Type in the nickname of your choosing.