What's the difference between a leading indicator and a legging indicator?

Leading indicators are actions that are necessary to achieve a goal and lagging indicators measure the current production and performance of that goal. Leading indicators are dynamic and difficult to measure and lagging indicators are easy to measure but hard to change.