How often can you get shingles?

In the U.S., about 1 in 3 adults will get shingles, or herpes zoster. Shingles was always thought to be a once-in-a-lifetime event. But studies have shown that around 6% of people will have shingles more than once. Shingles that happens again months or years later is called “recurrent shingles.”