Where does charcoal come from?

Charcoal is a lightweight black carbon residue produced by removing water and other volatile constituents from animal and plant materials. Charcoal is usually produced by slow pyrolysis—the heating of wood or other organic materials in the absence of oxygen. This process is called charcoal burning.