What makes bones pop?

It is actually not the bones popping as much as the space between them. There is fluid (synovial fluid) in the joints, two bones meet up (knees, knuckles, etc.). Air bubbles can form in the fluid the “POP”you hear is usually from a bubble that formed in that fluid as the pressure is released.