What are pure substances?

Pure substances are made up entirely of the substance in question. For example, pure water is 100% H2O. Tap water typically has dissolved minerals so it is not technically pure water. Pure quartz is clear. Rose quartz has added minerals that color it, so it is not pure quartz.