What's the rarest fruit in the world?

The Ackee fruit, which grows mainly in the tropical regions of West Africa, is the national fruit of Jamaica. The only place it is widely eaten is, in fact, Jamaica, mainly due to its long-standing reputation of being highly poisonous when it's not fully ripe.