What is the name sherry mean?

The name Sherry may come from the Irish surname Ó Searraigh meaning "descendant of Searrach", a name meaning "foal" in Gaelic. Later it may have been reinforced by the French word chérie meaning "darling", or the English word sherry, a type of fortified wine named for the Spanish town of Jerez