Why do they call a woodchuck a woodchuck?

Name comes from the Algonquin tribe of Native Americans, who called them “wuchak.” English settlers, in trying to use that word, likely came up with the name “woodchuck.” Depending on where you are in the country, woodchucks are also known as groundhogs, land beavers, and whistling pigs.